When writing a poem, I was told:
“Do not repeat the same words.”
I asked, “why not?”

Their reply:

“Repetition can be annoying
and unappealing
for those who are reading your poems.”

 
At that moment, I wish I had replied:

” I repeat whatever I wish to repeat
because when I repeat myself,
I practice my repetition to the point
that whatever it was that I repeated
no longer sounds unappealing”

but instead,

I only wrote whatever I wrote
without writing what I wished to write,

( that is, I wished to write
without repeating words just to follow
the advice someone once told me
I should do when writing a poem)

but instead,
I wrote without writing what my wishes were,

And now, I’m glad that whatever I write
nowadays is written

not by how I wish to write

but by how the writing
should be written

just like that

Written by: L.L.

April 12, 2016

Leave a Reply

