Ah dirty lamp, I found you on the ground
at the city of gold.
I thought that if I rubbed you out of your dirtiness,
I would find a heart of gold.

Instead, with each rub, I was greeted with a dragon song;
With a roar that scared me to the bones.
You told me what I did was an invasion of the soul
that I stripped you out of your old clothes.

But ah dirty lamp, you look so clean, so nice.
Why do you turn your sanity off?
My hidden agenda was to help you shine.
Not for you, to grant me wishes, goofball.

Written by: L.L.

 

This was a poem written by a challenge from a poetic friend, to write a poem using the below words.

dragon song
hidden agenda
city of gold
invasion of the soul
heart of gold

Leave a Reply

