Will you be with me like a light-bulb in the night,
where the sun is nowhere nigh,
Even though I have no power to illuminate your mind?


Will you?


Will you be with me despite knowing that I have
no electricity to turn you on?
Nor any money to pay for the energy
you will want to consume?


Will you?


Will you be with me through darkness and more darkness;
through coldness and more coldness;
and through rooms of isolation –
just you and me, together in unison
of a single touch, but not a single more ?


Will you?


Will you be with me even if destiny’s hand
tries to twist your mind off to separate us both?


Will you?

 

If so, I’ll be your light-socket, you’ll be my light-bulb:
my inspiration, my eternal companion.
You’ll give me the energy we need to brighten this room.
You’ll fix me up. I’ll turn your life on.
We’ll be together forever and ever. We’ll never be alone.
We’ll electrify each other with our love.

 

If not, no doubt, a switch into a new room will help us,
both, move on.



Written by: L.L.

December, 2013

Leave a Reply

